The Right Place?

I wanted to pass on a link to a nice little article in the Guardian today where a staff writer waxes nostalgic over a cycling trip taken by one of the newspaper’s early lead writers. The excursion took him from Manchester to London – a 19 hour trip, at the time. Today’s columnist, after all the requisite “I am not worthies,” propositions his readers for a few detours to help make the trip repeatable under modern circumstances.

Given the quickly encroaching ring roads, a few trips like this in and around Prague might not be a bad feature to add to the archives. In a few short years, a quick shot out to Zbraslav or a comfortable ride on small village roads to visit Svijany for a pint or two may well be practical impossibilities. On the other hand, the way things are heading with gridlock and pump prices, cycling might be the only way to go… Either way, a few well-planned and illuminated routes might not be such a bad idea.

To that end, I’ve started up an account on BikeMap.net which lets you create a cool little GPS route, complete with description, elevations, distances and detailed road conditions. Salo has been using it for a while now, and worked out some way to upload and download the GPS data to his Garmin. It’s pretty easy to do, so if anyone is interested in having access to the account, let me know and I’ll give you the password.

1 Response to “The Right Place?”


  1. 1 salo August 9, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    For planning my rides (and GPX export) I actually prefer http://bikeroutetoaster.com/ which has better tools and can use different sources than just the default Google car/walk data (e.g., OpenStreet Map bike routes).

    I use bikemap.net just as a dumping ground for routes I’ve already done so I can pass the URL to the map around (e.g., my yesterday’s ride: http://www.bikemap.net/route/640442 which is becoming one of my absolute favourites in Prague’s vicinity and mostly follows the route of a race Brdsky svih which I’ve done earlier this summer).


Leave a Reply

