The Winter Black and Blues

Sorry for not posting, but winter landed on Prague with a vengeance a week ago, and it’s been all I can manage to roll out of bed and make it to work. Today the mercury floated a bit above the freezing mark, so I trotted out the trusty Bianchi and made it over to Gattaca with nothing but some frozen, muddy socks to complain about. Despite the crap weather and the inclement holidays, there are some goings on:

First off, I’d like to announce a meeting at the new workshop space in Letna next week. On the agenda: a potential bike co-op, similar to this one that Rob pointed out from back in sunny Atlanta:

SoPo bike co-op documentary

We have a much more limited space than the Atlanta folks, but I think there’s plenty of demand in Prague for something like this. If you or anyone you know is interested, come out to the meeting and give us your input! We’d like to focus on:

1. how to use the workshop space

2. some limited parts ordering for harder to find bits

3. all things bike polo

4. Working with other groups to help promote commuter bike paths and bike infrastructure in Prague

Since it’s the holidays and many of us have family visiting or are heading out of town, please RSVP in the comments so I know how many people to expect, or if the meeting should be re-scheduled.

13:00 at Dobrovskeho 6, 30/12/09

10 Responses to “The Winter Black and Blues”


  1. 1 Dula December 23, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I am interested, but I am working😦
    I am looking forward to join some other day in the future..🙂

  2. 2 salo December 24, 2009 at 2:43 am

    I can’t make it either as I’ll return back to Prague only late that night…

  3. 3 Marek December 24, 2009 at 8:07 am

    I´ve just learnt about the bike coop you´re planning. This sounds great. I´ll come to the meeting / prijdu.

  4. 4 saman December 25, 2009 at 8:50 am

    i am interested, but evening would be better

  5. 5 Koen December 27, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I ‘ll be there!

  6. 6 ROb December 27, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    I unfortunately won’t be back in Prague until Jan 10th. I will be bringing cogs and lockrings for all the IRO hubsets. I have already purchased them. Let the building begin. There will be other goodies to come. I played polo with some guys in ATL. They are very good. It was a lot of fun. I will share more later. Peace from KY.

  7. 7 bigscott December 28, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    i am interested. very very interested. however, i won’t be back in prague until around the 3rd.
    I have some experience with collective organizing and grassroots bike stuff, and have worked as a mechanic for years. this sounds like a great opportunity and i would love to be involved.
    i will also be needing a few tools and some space build my bicycle soon after i arrive, and i am hoping you guys might be able to help.
    this sounds fantastic, can’t wait.

  8. 8 spencer December 30, 2009 at 11:15 am

    yo!
    is it on today?
    i’ll be there!

  9. 9 Mikko December 31, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I’m in the states until the 14th… Anything you’d need me to bring back to prague, just let me know.

    Happy new year!

    //Mikko

  10. 10 saman January 4, 2010 at 10:45 am

    any outputs from the meeting?


Leave a Reply

